Music Video Review ( Loreley By In Hearts Wake)

As I watched the band “In Hearts Wake” new music video it felt as if I were watching a movie. The storyline of the video went well with the lyrics of the song as it showed a man going out to sea every day on his fishing boat.  It gives you the impression he’s hoping to find something out there. The fisherman spends his days with his dog and going through the motions of fishing, while you can see in his eyes, he feels lost.

Some of the bands lyrics like “Dismember me, Throw my heart to the sea, Watch as it sings slowly” set the mood of the storyline. I felt as if the singer was telling me a story about a depressed broken down man, lost and searching for something.

As it gets dark, the storyline seems like it’s heading towards the main plot and whatever the fisherman may be looking for at sea. The fisherman pulls out his lantern to see what he caught in his nets and he sees a woman stretching her hand out to him, pulling him into the water.

I really enjoyed this storyline because it’s not until the end of the music video that you realize the fisherman has been searching for his wife who drowned at sea. He longs to be with her and when he thinks he sees her in the water, he reaches out to her, drowns and ends up with her once again.

Image

Leave a comment